Letter from the President

Dear NATCAP Chapter Members,

I am thrilled to introduce our incoming Chapter Leaders who will be sworn-in at our May 17th Chapter Monthly Meeting.  These distinguished meeting professionals will serve you beginning July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2019.  I encourage you to reach out to them, introduce yourselves and find out more about why they answered the call to serve.

Incoming Board Members

President - Erika Noyes, CGMP, CMP

1VP - Necoya Tyson, CGMP

2VP - Ru Paster, CGMP

Secretary - Helene Lippe, CMP, HMCC

Treasurer - Shano Kapadia, CGMP

Director - Cheryl Gordon, CGMP

Director - Ruth Murphy , CMP

Director - Susan Frate, CGMP, CMP

Immediate Past President - Jesse Strauss, CMP

I want to thank the current board for their service and leadership over the last two years.   Erika Noyes, currently serving as First Vice President and Membership Chair, has led an incredible growth in membership after two prior years of steady decline.  Mary Kostovny, who departed the board in February as she transitioned out of the hospitality industry, served as the Second Vice President and Programs Chair bringing incredible speakers and topics to our monthly meetings.   We are grateful to Jill Blume with IGH for stepping in to fulfill the remaining months of Mary’s term.   Peg Thomas, a dedicated and longtime NATCAP Member, has served as our Secretary and champion on special projects large and small.  Reggie Clyburn recently stepped down after almost two years as NATCAP’s treasurer.   Tom Albrecht joined the Board mid-term and immediately stepped-up serving as a Director at Large.   I am thrilled that Ruth Murphy and Cheryl Gordon will continue their good work as part of the incoming board.  Ruth Murphy will continue leading the Communications Committee, and Cheryl Gordon who has led several new, exciting events will continue to lead Special Events.  Be on the lookout for several new networking opportunities later this year!     

Writing my final Letter from the President” is bittersweet as I look back on my own journey.  It has been an honor to lead this organization of dynamic and dedicated meeting professionals.   I am grateful for the opportunities to network and learn alongside you all – after all that is what SGMP is all about!  I hope to see many of you at our second-ever NATCAP Members-Only networking reception in Fort Lauderdale sponsored by Detroit Metro CVB.  



Jesse Strauss, CMP, CVEP



With the addition of the Silver Line, 10 Metro stations now connect Fairfax County, VA to Washington, DC and the rest of the National Capital Area! 

And Visit Fairfax, the convention & visitors bureau serving Fairfax County, can connect government planners to 100+ hotels, including 18 with significant meeting space that are located within walking distance or a short shuttle ride to a Metro station. 

Be sure to contact Eric Kulczycky (ekulczycky@fxva.com; 703-955-2043), National Sales Manager at Visit Fairfax, to learn more about our complimentary services to source hotels for your next meeting.